Robin's Space



Lucidity

Words

Classics

Music

Gallery

Stars

Me

Home

Me

Ok, here's the part where I tell you all about myself...
if you still are curious after looking at my site.

I have been called a bookworm, a contrarian, a smart ass, and 'that bass chick', (among other things). Among my interests are music, Classics, words (written, spoken, and sung), travel, pictures, the out-of-doors (hiking, backpacking, etc.), computers, and thought. As for hobbies, I think, read, write, play upright bass, electric bass, and guitar, argue, mess around on my computer, stay up way too late, and sleep in way too late. As for sports, I am not a sporty person but my only transportation in the UK is my bicycle, so I am cycling everyday. I did play ultimate frisbee and squash, but that has been put on hold until my RSI improves, but I may have to come up with new sports.

At the University of Dallas I played in enough groups that I've lost count. There were Corrupted by Silver, the Bottle Blue Seven and it's later incarnation the Jugheads, Every Night at the Improv, a Grateful Dead cover band, and the Larry Mitnaul Project, to name a few. I've played everything from classic rock to jazz to latin to everything in between. The first concert I went to was Neil Young, on his 'Solo' tour, when I was in middle school (I saw him again with Crazy Horse on their 'Broken Arrow' tour). I started playing guitar when I was 9, electric bass when I was 13, and upright bass when I was 15. I am currently playing in a dixieland jazz band the Combertones, based in the village of Comberton.

Having spent the spring semester of 2000 studying outside of Rome, a month in Israel working on an archeological dig, as well as traveling when ever I had the chance, my current "country count" is up to 14 or so countries. I'd have to say that Italy is my favorites, but all of my time abroad has made me appreciate the good old United States of America even more. I'm a bit past the visiting point in England, but there are too many things that we still need to see.

I have a BA in Classics (Latin and Greek) from the University of Dallas, in Irving Texas, and I am considering going on to study Classics and Classical Archaeology in graduate school or to get teaching certification and continue teaching. I assisted for many years with UD's Latin in Rome (of which I'm actually an alumna) and worked in the Summer Programs Office. As for office work, I worked at Adaptive Micro-Ware, Inc. (Ft. Wayne, IN) and worked as the Bursar's Assistant at one of the College here in Cambridge. Getting back to Classics, I taught Latin at Trinity Christian Academy (Addison, TX) and I am currently teaching Latin and Classical Civilisation at the Cambridge Centre for Sixth Form Studies (Cambridge, UK).

I am the webmaster for all of kniskern.com, though I admit I have not been a very good webmaster for the past two years but hopefully moving the site to a new server will inspire me to get back to work.

I am married my wonderful husband, and fellow UDer,Paul and we are now living in Cambridge, England while he pursues his MPhil and PhD in medieval history. He is now in the final year of his PhD and I am teaching at CCSS. We're expecting to come back to the states in the next year, but exactly when (and where!) depends on submission dates and job offers.

In the past, I've wanted to be an astronaut, a paleontologist, a rock star, an archaeologist, a writer, a world traveler, a psychologist, a lawyer, and a photographer. All of these still sound great to me, and as of right now, my vague plan for the future is to figure out what's best for me in this world, do that, and be happy.

(mail me)

Go back to the Kniskern Family Web Page

Contact: webmaster@kniskern.com

Sign My Guestbook Guestbook by GuestWorld View My Guestbook